Log in
Updated today

Tadeo Gaita wins UPGA-pro playoff

Tadeo Gaita

Tadeo Gaita

Rodell Tadeo Gaita has been striking the ball consistently since turning professional a few years ago. But after putting up a series of notable victories in recent months, he is hoping that that form will translate into something come the Uganda Golf Open which tees off next month.

Last Friday, Gaita won a three-man playoff in a Uganda Professional Golfers Association Pro-Am one-day event at Uganda Golf Club at Kitante.

The event is one of the many that have been organized by a number of well-wishers and golf enthusiasts to offer professional golfers a competitive edge going into the Uganda Open, which is the first event on the lucrative Safari Tour.

Gaita had played two-under 70, like Grace Kasango and top amateur Joseph Cwinya-ai. It meant that the two had to return to the course to decide the day’s triumphant golfer.

Initially, Marvin Kibirige, the young professional from Namulonge, had been deemed to be the clubhouse leader for most of the leader but it was later found out that he had signed in a birdie on the par 5 number eight and not a par, which is what he played.

Kibirige’s erroneous 69 led to his disqualification, which ruled him out of what would have been a four-man playoff. It was a schoolboy mistake that Kibirige will hopefully learn from ahead of busier, more competitive, and more lucrative engagements on both the Ugandan and international scene.

David Kamulindwa shot a one-under 71 to complete the money bracket of the professionals. Missing out on the cut were seasoned names like Deo Akope and Philip Kasozi who both returned 72. The same score was played by amateurs; Regan Akena and Ibrahim Bagalana.   

Another one-day showdown is due to tee off tomorrow at Uganda Golf Club as the professionals gear up for the Open.

Final leaderboard

Gaita Rodel      70
Grace Kasango  70
Joseph Cwinya-ai   70 (Amateur)
David Kamulindwa 71
Philip Kasozi  72
Ibra Bagalana    72
Regan Akena    72 (Amateur)
Deo Akope  72
Canary Kabise  73
Brian Toolit   73
Adolf Muhumuza 74
Hussein Bagalana 74
Joseph Mawejje   75
Becca Mwanja 76
Herman Mutawe  76
Lawrence Muhenda 77
Titus Okwong 77 (Amateur)
James Koto 77
Michael Tumusiime 78 (Amatuer)
Abraham Ainemani 79
Andrew Sekibega 79 (Amateur)
Samuel Kato 81
Marvin Kibirige  DQ

Comments are now closed for this entry