Log in
Updated minutes ago

Victoria University unveils new council

Dr Lawrence Muganga

Dr Lawrence Muganga

Victoria University has unveiled its fourth university council members.

The committee of 15 include Joram Francis Kahenano as the chairperson, Joseph Biribonwa as the vice chairperson with Prof Consolata Kabonesa, Andrew Mwenda, Rajiv Ruparelia, James Kalebbo, Jay Sakaria, Mary Kanyiginya and Sameer Thakkar as members.

Others are Rashid Ssemambo, Carter Jorine Karyn, Barbara Amanya, Juliet Ampaire, Katusabe Ssemwezi and Dr Lawrence Muganga. During the swearing-in ceremony of the new council members at the university campus in Kampala, Leo Kibirango, former Bank of Uganda governor, gave a keynote address about corporate governance in which he said the council is entrusted with profound responsibilities for stewarding Victoria University in an increasingly complex and changing environment.

“The pivotal role of the council must be to continue focusing on shaping the university strategic directions to optimise value to the country at large through a stakeholder consultative process, safeguarding academic integrity through cultivating a culture of impeccable academic honesty and promoting development of high-quality research, harnessing the interests of various stakeholders to bring everybody on board for securing requisite resources and thereby promote stability,” Kibirango said.

However, Dr Lawrence Muganga, the university vice chancellor, said one of the key challenges they have grappled with has been the limited support and collaboration from the appointments committee of the council as their approach at times has been more critical than constructive, nurturing or even rehabilitating, causing significant obstacles to their path to meaningful and desired outcomes.

“As council members, our roles are not just titles but to come up with profound responsibility of steering this university towards its ambitious future. So, I urge everyone to guide us with wisdom, creativity and a forward-thinking mindset. I, therefore, encourage all of us to be champions of change, advocates of innovation and pillars of support that this university will lean on as we start this ambitious journey,” he said.


Comments are now closed for this entry