Log in

Vipers win Uganda Premier League title

Vipers Sports Club are the 2017-2018 Azam Uganda Premier League Champions.

Coached by Portuguese tactician Jorge Miguel da Costa, the Kitende based team lifted the trophy after a 4-1 win over a 10-man UPDF FC side in the last game of the season played at their St. Mary's Stadium on Friday.

Vipers celebrate winning the league title on Friday

Julius Njanjali gave the army side the lead after Vipers SC goalkeeper Ismeal Watenga blundered. But Erisa Ssekisambu made it 1-1 going into the break after UPDF FC's Julius Kisambira was sent-off for a second bookable offence.

Dan Sserunkuma who finished the season as top scorer with 17 goals made it 2-1 in the second half before Yayo Lutimba and Pius Wangi also scored.

Vipers SC completed the season with 65 points, while KCCA FC who are representing Uganda in the CAF Champions League failed to defend the title as they finished second with 61 points after they were held to a 2-all draw against Police FC.

"I am so happy that my players have given their best to win the league trophy," a happy Da Costa said on Friday after the game. The Portuguese coach joined the team in March last year.

Vipers coach da Costa applauds the Vipers fans 

In the other games played Uganda's oldest Club Express FC survived relegation after an Alfred Leku goal was enough to see them stop Masavu FC 1-0.

Proline FC were also relegated to the Big League after falling 2-1 to URA FC in a game played at the StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo. Daniel Isiagi scored for Proline FC before Ronald Kigongo and Shafiq Kagimu sealed the win for the tax collectors.

Bidco FC also stopped SC Villa 1-0, while Kirinya Jinja SSS FC defeated Mbarara City FC 2-0 and Soana FC settled for a goalless draw against Maroons FC. Arua based Onduparaka FC also secured a 2-0 win over visiting Bright Stars FC.

The three teams that have been relegated to the lower Division - Big League include; Masavu FC, Proline FC and army side UPDF FC. Nyamityobora FC, Ndejje University FC and Paidha Black Angels FC are the teams that have gained promotion to the 2018/2019 Premier League .

Comments are now closed for this entry