Nana Kagga, Samuel Kizito win in film awards

Samuel Saviour Kizito and Josephine Kabahuma receive the Best Screen Play award from MultiChoice MD Hassan Saleh

Samuel Saviour Kizito and Josephine Kabahuma receive the Best Screen Play award from MultiChoice MD Hassan Saleh

As a way of continuously promoting the local film industry and bringing together all Uganda’s film industry stakeholders in a more focused and structured environment, the Uganda Communications Commission (UCC) held the 8th edition of the Uganda Film Festival from March 29 to April 2.

Under the theme ‘Rebuilding a resilient creative industry through the pandemic’, the week-long event featured various activities such as screening of films, TV series and dramas, trainings and workshops from experts with broad knowledge and experience from the film industry, regional outreaches and the climax of the festival, which was an awards gala night.

Categories in which local filmmakers competed included Best Director, Best Feature Film, Best TV drama, Best Student film, Best Documentary and Best Animation, among others.

On top of the award, winners in the Best Director and Best Cinematography categories also received a cash prize of Shs 10m and a mentorship program at M-Net studios in South Africa.  Winners in the rest of the categories also received cash prizes.

Raymond Rushabiro won Best Actor in TV drama and Best Actor in Feature Film

During the awards gala at the Uganda Institute of Information and Communications Technology (UICT) in Nakawa last Friday, Susan Wegoye, the director of Legal Affairs at UCC, commended local filmmakers and actors for the continued enthusiasm and passion amidst the pandemic, which saw them receive over 204 entries.

“As a commission, we are happy to note that the local film industry is slowly picking up the pieces. There is great enthusiasm of Ugandans towards home- made films and we have observed and increased offering of local content on our television stations and online platforms,” she said.

The minister of ICT Judith Nabakooba who was the guest of honor said: “The film industry gives us a window through which we can encourage our communities to rise up again. Through its motivational and emotional power, films have the power to guide our journey of growth to greater heights. I, therefore, call upon all filmmakers to reflect on our country’s priories and use your talent in helping us achieve them.”


Best Production Design: Josephine Kabahuma, Catch Out

Best Cinematography: Ekuka Izerk, Stain

Best Supporting Actor (Feature Film): Walusimbi Jeffroberts, Catch Out

Best Supporting Actress (Feature Film): Keloy Kemigisha, Kemi


Best Script/Screenplay: Kizito Samuel Saviour and Josephine Kabahuma, Kemi

Best Costume Design: Ninsiima Rona, Stain

Best Post Production/Editing: Kizito Samuel Saviour, Catch Out

Lifetime Achievement Award: Sarah Ssentongo Kisauzi

Best Animation Film: A Thousand Fetes

Best Actor (Feature Film): Raymond Rushabiro, Stain

Best Actress (Feature Film): Joan Agaba, Stain


Best Student Film: Till Death Do Us Apart

Best Feature Film: Stain

Best Indigenous Film: Damali (The African Girl Child)

Best Director: Kizito Samuel Saviour, Kemi

Best Documentary: I Won’t Kneel


Best TV Drama: Prestige

Best Actor (TV Drama): Raymond Rushabiro, What If

Best Actress (TV Drama): Nana Kagga, Prestige

Viewers Choice Award: Tecora


© 2016 Observer Media Ltd