Log in
Updated minutes ago

ACCA calls for nominations for 2020 CFO Awards

Last year's CFO Awards winners

Last year's CFO Awards winners

The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) in partnership with Deloitte (Uganda) Limited is calling for nominations for the 2020 Chief Finance Officer Awards. First established in 2017, the CFO Awards are a recognition and celebration of outstanding work achievements of chief finance officers (CFOs).

According to the press statement from ACCA, this year, the categories have been increased from 5 to 8, and the awards are open to finance officers of listed companies, large corporations, SMEs, state-owned entities, non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and government institutions.

The categories include CFO of the Year Award, Young CFO Award, Public Sector Award, Not-for-Profit Award, SME Award, Strategy Execution Award, Finance Transformation Award and the new category dubbed Social Impact Award which has been added to the range for recognition of performance in the wake of the current coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic.

Nominations opened on October 28 and end on November 20, 2020, at midnight via the link https://www.accaglobal.com/africa/en/member/member-networks/uganda-cfo-awards.html

Themed ‘building resilient finance leaders and organizations’, the fourth annual awards according to the press statement will continue to illuminate the essential role that the finance function plays in driving integrated thinking in decision-making and in building sustainable business models while acknowledging the agility with which organizations have transformed work against all odds according to ACCA.

“The purpose of the CFO Awards is to raise the profiles of the CFO’s, their involvement in the ever-changing world and development of businesses and finance practices. We also recognize excellence and the essential roles they play in building resilient organizations,” says Nobert Kagoro, country managing partner, Deloitte Uganda.

Charlotte Kukunda, business development manager, ACCA Uganda said, “through the CFO Awards, ACCA has been able to live and demonstrate its purpose, drawing attention to the necessary professional skills that should be adopted and demonstrated by leaders who meet needs of a rapidly changing business and economic landscape.”

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, this year’s awards will be held virtually, providing equal interactions and networking opportunities. All winners shall have to demonstrate proficiency in the seven vital qualities of intelligence, creativity, digital knowledge, emotional intelligence, experience, vision, and technical and ethical skills (referred to as the seven quotients in the ACCA report of ‘Professional Accountants – The Future’) on https://www.accaglobal.com/gb/en/qualifications/why-acca/competency-framework/quotients.html.

Comments are now closed for this entry